MCPS Volunteer Signup / Let's make something happen

TimBay

But in all seriousness, we know MCPS controls all things Hartshorne, so my thinking is if enough of us join the volunteer system, we could lead our own TM sessions and determine what to work on that benefits us (and everyone, but mostly for MTB, lol).

Here's the link: https://www.monmouthcountyparks.com/page.aspx?Id=2614

If you can't beat 'em, join 'em. Post in here with any questions or, more importantly, to let me know that you've signed up or if you're already a volunteer. It's not very hard to do and can help improve and maintain the local trails.

TimBay

I’d be happy to join a proper TM session at Hartshorne. I’ve never done it there before cuz I don’t want to build waterbars.
Are you a registered MCPS volunteer? If not, see the above link. This is a requirement to do trail maintenance. What I'm trying to accomplish is a group of people that can work very slightly outside of the overall park system schedule. Let them set their overall goals and we can work to make sessions beyond those goals. Or something like that.

I'd like to get a number of volunteers to present to the MCPS and work out with them how we can get things done. They have to provide their limited resources to all parks, but maybe theres something we can do outside of the general public's volunteer schedule. I need backing in numbers though. So tell your friends to all register.

Patrick

Overthinking the draft from the basement already
Staff member
Recommend starting with work sessions to meet their goals - as proof of concept.
Then their goals get expanded, because they have the group to meet those.
This would prevent anything "unauthorized" and expansion would become "reasonable" - cause nothing worse than
someone putting something down on a plan, and not being able to accomplish it.
Then they get "official credit" cause that is what they are paid for, and the park gets more care.

Thanks for taking this on. Good luck!

TimBay