Gravel Shoe Recommendations

Turbotrix

I gave up on road biking last year and I just had a buddy just offer to sell me his bike so I figured it was finally time to give this gravel bike thing a shot. Any recommendations for a decent SPD shoe. I def don't have plans to race. I'm just looking for something that'll be comfortable over a few hours of riding and walking around in during stops. I've had good luck with Shimano offerings in the past but I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks!

I use an older pair of Shimano mtn bike shoes with CB Candy pedals for road riding. Mainly for the ease of walking. Same shoes I wear for more spirited XC/trail rides where I'm less likely to walk much.

I've been using Giro Empire VR90's for the past 5 years or so for MTB/CX/Gravel. They're super comfy riding, but not great for walking, because they're so stiff.
Just got a pair of Specialized Recon 3.0's, but have only used them on the trainer so far. They're supposed to have something called STRIDE toe flex, but I can't comment on it, yet.

I run the older version of the Specialized Recon 3.0 which works great for MTB and Gravel where you might walk. For our local roads through Bedminster I ride my road set-up because you're never stepping off the bike out there...

A relatively new phenomenon we see is that many people are wearing (off the bike) foot shaped shoes like Hoka, Altra, Birkenstock, Lem etc. If your feet have are shaped more like a brick than a cowboy boot or high heel ladies shoe, i'd try on some shoes from lake. They come in 3 widths and they have something for most every foot shape. Their narrowest is the same as the Wide fit from Giro, Shimano and Sidi.

1675792931647.jpeg

I run SPDs on gravel but didn't want to wear a mtn bike shoe and didn't want to go full on roadie.

To me the look of the Mavic Allroad Pro fit the bill and found them on sale for less then $150. Bike shoes can get stoopid expensive.